Wednesday 23 September 2015


Australia (officially the Commonwealth of Australia), is an Oceanian country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the world's sixth-largest country by total area. Neighbouring countries include Papua New Guinea, Indonesia and East Timor to the north; the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu to the north-east; and New Zealand to the south-east.

For at least 40,000 years before the first British settlement in the late 18th century, Australia was inhabited by indigenous Australians, who spoke languages grouped into roughly 250 language groups. After the European discovery of the continent by Dutch explorers in 1606, Australia's eastern half was claimed by Great Britain in 1770 and initially settled through penal transportation to the colony of New South Wales from 26 January 1788. The population grew steadily in subsequent decades; the continent was explored and an additional five self-governing crown colonies were established.

On 1 January 1901, the six colonies federated, forming the Commonwealth of Australia. Since Federation, Australia has maintained a stable liberal democratic political system that functions as a federal parliamentary democracy and constitutional monarchy comprising six states and several territories. The population of 23.6 million is highly urbanised and heavily concentrated in the eastern states and on the coast.

Australia is a developed country and one of the wealthiest in the world, with the world's 12th-largest economy. In 2014 Australia had the world's fifth-highest per capita income. Australia's military expenditure is the world's 13th-largest. With the second-highest human development index globally, Australia ranks highly in many international comparisons of national performance, such as quality of life, health, education, economic freedom, and the protection of civil liberties and political rights. Australia is a member of the United Nations, G20, Commonwealth of Nations, ANZUS, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), World Trade Organization, Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, and the Pacific Islands Forum.

Australian forests are mostly made up of evergreen species, particularly eucalyptus trees in the less arid regions; wattles replace them as the dominant species in drier regions and deserts. Among well-known Australian animals are the monotremes (the platypus and echidna); a host of marsupials, including the kangaroo, koala, and wombat, and birds such as the emu and the kookaburra. Australia is home to many dangerous animals including some of the most venomous snakes in the world.

This post is part of the Outdoor Wednesday meme,
and also part of the  Wordless Wednesday meme,
and also part of the ABC Wednesday meme.


  1. Kangaroos are so cute, Koalas are cool, Kookaburra are chirpy
    Can't mention the other creepy critters as I have a phobia of them......brrrr shiver shiver !
    Interesting information,

    Best wishes,
    ABCW team,.

  2. Its a long way to travel from my home but i hope that one day i will be able to travel there!

    Thank you for participating in ABC-Wednesday, hope so see you again next week.

    Have a nice abc-week / day

    ♫ Mel☺dy ♫ (abc-e-team)

  3. Hi! It's a surprise for me to read all the data about Australia. Most of it I have known for some time, because my second daughter lives in Queensland, where I visit her and the family almost every year. This year I was there in August.
    Have a great weekend!Wil, ABCW Team

  4. I wonder why there are so many animals with K names in Australia.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder